Trouble In Paradise | La Roux


Trouble In Paradise | La Roux

By Wright Franklin
KRUA Music Manager

La-Roux-Trouble-In-ParadiseFive years in the works, La Roux’s sophomore release “Trouble In Paradise” is a project that has weathered a lot of storms. Elly Jackson, singer of the dynamic – now former – pop duo, suffered through anxiety, panic attacks and the departure of her long-time band mate/co-producer Ben Langmaid. Langmaid who had stated that he was “deeply saddened” by the split, left after a dramatic string of Tweets, even reposting negative reviews of the album including one that stated “f*** La Roux, nobody knows her.” Trouble In Paradise was finally released on July 18th of this year, and continued to cite Langmaid with writing and/or producing credits on about half of the songs.

Despite all of the heartbreak and negativity surrounding the album, the sound is strikingly chipper. The buttery bass line and drums of “Uptight Downtown” immediately jump out at you from the abyss. Seemingly taking cues from the likes of Daft Punk and Pharrell Williams, the disco influence on the album is heavy. “Tropical Chancer” actually sounds like something you could hear emanating from the doors of a discotheque. The chord progression actually sounds eerily similar to a Daft Punk song. The song “Let Me Down Gently” starts off as a slow-moving ballad and transitions into a Toto-sounding pop jam, complete with saxophone and synthesized drums.

On “Silent Partner,” Jackson sounds as though she may be speaking to Langmaid directly, singing, “you’re not my partner, no you’re not a part of me.” The frustration of “Cruel Sexuality” and “Sexotheque” are strong points of the album. The final song, “The Feeling” is probably the weakest. Though it is pretty consistent throughout, the album still feels as if it is trying too hard at some points. Even without her other half, Trouble In Paradise is proof that Elly Jackson can tough it on her own, although the sound of their debut record seems like a distant memory. Trouble In Paradise is a fairly solid electro pop album, complete with nostalgia, anxiety, disco and plenty of danceable songs.


Track List:

1. Uptight Downtown
2. Kiss And Not Tell
3. Cruel Sexuality
4. Paradise Is You
5. Sexotheque
6. Tropical Chancer
7. Silent Partner
8. Let Me Down Gently
9. The Feeling

Leave a Reply