Archive Series Vol. 1 | Iron and Wine


Archive Series Vol. 1 | Iron and Wine

If you’re going to be spending this Valentine’s Day alone, and feel like feeling sorry for yourself, Archive Series just may be the pity party soundtrack you’ve been looking for. This album of wonderfully depressing guitar ballads is a collection of abandoned tapes, home demos, covers and live sets recorded by the fantastically talented Sam Beam, perhaps better known as Iron and Wine. A good listen with a nice pair of headphones, a blanket and a cup of tea (and perhaps a box of tissues) is sure either to tug nicely on your heartstrings or put you into a deep, contented sleep.

From beginning to end, the pace of the album pretty much stays the same. Each song is unique and special, but in more subtle ways that may be harder to pick up on if you listen to it cover to cover. Archive Series may quickly be leading the race in the “Sleepiest Albums of 2015” competition. There is no doubting that this is a great collection of songs. The songs that Sam Beam has left to rest in “closets and shoeboxes” – according to the promotional blurb – are better than songs a lot of other singer/songwriters have released.

“Eden”, “Two Hungry Blackbirds” and “Freckled Girl” are a great back to back listen. All of these songs would sound great laying under the sun in your backyard. Or sitting inside, looking out the icy window on a freezing winter day. Or anywhere, really, any minute you have some down time. They sound like taking a breath of fresh air and a sip of water after a hard day’s work. For Iron and Wine fans, this album will be a great addition to your collection. For new listeners, you may not want to start with these songs per se. Unless you want to cry. A lot. And then sleep. Which you may. It’s cool.


Track List:

  1. Slow Black River
  2. The Wind Is Low
  3. Eden
  4. Two Hungry Blackbirds
  5. Freckled Girl
  6. Judgement
  7. Sing Song Bird
  8. Beyond the Fence
  9. Quarters In A Pocket
  10. Loretta
  11. Everyone’s Summer of 95
  12. Minor Piano Keys
  13. Your Sly Smile
  14. Halfway to Richmond
  15. Wade Across the Water
  16. Postcard

By Wright Franklin
KRUA Music Manager

Leave a Reply