Horrors of 1999 | Ho99o9


Horrors of 1999 | Ho99o9

The new Ho99o9 (pronounced horror) EP called “Horrors of 1999″ is the single most fascinating EP of 2015. Yes.. You read that correctly. Spawned from a fusion of mid-2000s rap and late 20th century horror movies, Ho99o9 provides a musical experience similar to that of Death Grips. Each song on this EP is strangely unique, even incorporating a skit like many rap albums in the mid-2000s, yet provides a distinctly well formed image despite the fact that the EP is barely over ten minutes total play time.

Songs like “No Regrets” and “Savage Head” are clear references to east coast underground punk and hardcore concerts while “P.O.W. (Prisoners of War)” exhibits the hardcore rap elements of Ho99o9’s repertoire. While the lyrics are graphic and explicit, there is also a sense of frustration and post-adolescent growth. “P.O.W. (Prisoners of War)” has verses about death and suicide punctuated by anguished moans and groans, again displaying immense discomfort and possibly aggression.

Ho99o9 will never be able to escape references to Death Grips, the most popular hardcore rap duo that has been shaking the music scene for a while now. Both consisting of a Caucasian percussionist and an African-American front man, the similarities are quite striking considering their respective musical styles and general stage presence. All in all, Ho99o9’s “Horrors of 1999″ is even more grungy and less melodious than any of Death Grips’ work. If you feel reckless and vital, or if you want to pump yourself to work out, this EP will work wonders.

Rating: 6/10 

Track list:

  1. No Regrets
  2. Day Of Vengeance
  3. Private Parts (Skit)
  4. P.O.W. (Prisoners Of War)
  5. Gates Of Torment
  6. Savage Heads
  • Nicholas

    However, contract syndication within the dad or mum PeopleSoft
    system uses the outbound service operation only.

Leave a Reply