Ghost Modern | Geographer


Ghost Modern | Geographer

Treading the ever-blurring line between electronic and alternative music seems to be what Michael Deni, also known as Geographer, does best. The cleverly and relevantly named Ghost Modern only dives further into the ocean of ethereal pop tranquility explored on his last two records, Innocent Ghosts and Myth. Trying to place Geographer into one genre is like trying to put toothpaste back into the tube. There are so many elements to this record that it can be described as more of a sonic collage.

The album cover itself is a perfect visual for the music. It is a collection of hundreds of tiny objects in a halo around a head. Much in the same way, Geographer composed this album from a wide assortment of textures, instruments, sounds and styles. There are varying synthesizers, live drums as well as drum machines, violins, guitar, and piano. Weaving itself through these sounds, Deni’s smooth and silky voice breezes along, creating a dream like sensation.

The strong opening track “I’m Ready” features a shimmering bell-like synthesizer layered with piano and spastic violin, being marched along by a low, steady drum beat. “Need” has a similar strong drum pattern, although slower. In the midst of all of the sounds, sometimes the softness of the vocals sounds a bit out of place. One of the strongest tracks is “Read Your Palm”. It sounds like a summer dream, and is a great example of Geographer’s airy and ephemeral style. Overall, Ghost Modern is a solid, if sporadic, 3rd release from Geographer, and is best listened to with no expectations. For fans of bands like Ra Ra Riot or Discovery, this album is worth a listen.


Track List:

  1. Intro
  2. I’m Ready
  3. Need
  4. You Say You Love Me
  5. Too Much
  6. The Guest
  7. Read Your Palm
  8. The Fire Is Coming
  9. Patience
  10. Keep
  11. Interlude
  12. Falling Apart

By Wright Franklin
KRUA Music Manager

Leave a Reply