Maximum Overload | Dragonforce

By Russ Slaten
KRUA Loud Rock Director

Dragonforce - Maximum OverloadDragonForce, the world’s favorite internationally-represented shredders, released a magnificent mix of melody and energy in Maximum Overload. The members are from the UK, France, Hong Kong and Ukraine, and based in London. The band’s metal chops match the best Bay Area shredders from the 80s. With Iron Maiden-like high-pitched singing, and galloping thrash guitars, DragonForce’s vocalist Marc Hudson belts out lyrics that spur images of medieval battle victories and 8-bit side-scrolling Castlevania, thanks to the blasting guitar solos.
Track highlights include “Three Hammers,” evoking the coming of dragons, and then making you realize, maybe it’s not such a bad thing.
The cover of Johnny Cash’s “Ring of Fire” puts the listener in the seat of a chopper on the lake of fire highway at top speed, just like the song’s blazing solo.
“Defenders” is a vocalization of the metal community, and demands headbangers to pick up their arms–jean jackets and flyers–and to fight anything that comes their way.
Track List:
1. The Game (feat. Matt Heafy)
2. Tomorrow’s Kings
3. No More (feat. Matt Heafy)
4. Three Hammers
5. Symphony of the Night
6. The Sun Is Dead
7. Defenders (feat. Matt Heafy)
8. Extraction Zone
9. City Of Gold
10. Ring Of Fire (Johnny Cash Cover)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: