No Now | Clarence Clarity


No Now | Clarence Clarity

The debut album from Clarence Clarity emerges from a very interesting and refreshing sonic space. Somewhere in the middle between electronic and rock, his sound can best be described as somewhere in the negative space between James Blake, Nine Inch Nails and Marilyn Manson. If such a space did not exist before, Clarence Clarity creates it here. There is a lot of sound to dissect. It is also similar to Crystal Castles or the Black Bananas release last year in its electronic glitchiness and grit.

The vocals sometimes evoke soulful and seductive RnB, and at other times warp and diverge into screams and shouting. Nevertheless, the songs maintain a core of melodic beauty, surrounded by a barb wire shell of noise. The transitions between songs are a hotbed of static which gives the impression that each song is emerging from an ether. As soon as you begin to think “What is this? This is just noise,” a melody or a beat breaks out from the static and gets your head bobbing.

Very rarely is an album such a sensory experience as No Now. With dark and self-destructive track names like “Let’s Shoot Up” and “Bloodbarf” and melancholy and beautiful lyrics, the entire listen front to back is a fantastic journey. The only complaint about No Now is that sometimes it gets too lost in itself. The second to last track, “With No Fear” contains nearly three minutes of pure static which is basically unlistenable. Outside of these noisy issues, the rest of the album is definitely a pleasant surprise.


Track List:

  1. Become Death
  2. Will to Believe
  3. Alive In The Septic Tank
  4. Buck-Toothed Particle Smashers
  5. Hit Factory Of Sadness
  6. Off My Grid
  7. Those Who Can’t, Cheat
  8. Let’s Shoot Up
  9. Bloodbarf
  10. Tathagatagarbha
  11. Meadow Hopping, Traffic Stopping, Death Splash
  12. Porn Mountain
  13. One Hand Washes The Other
  14. The Cute
  15. 1-800-Worship
  16. The Gospel Truth
  17. No Now
  18. Cancer In The Water
  19. With No Fear
  20. Now I Am

By Wright Franklin
KRUA  Music Manager

Leave a Reply